I asked the most wonderful ER nurse (that’s you, Mattie!) before surgery exactly where the appendix was and she pulled up some images on Google for me. I didn’t know this, but it’s just a tiny little thing that hangs off the large intestine where it meets the small intestine. My first reaction was, “Ugh, look at it hanging out there like an asshole waiting to wreck you.” I think she was amused.

I’m back home now, minus an appendix, plus three small holes in my belly. I’m trying to avoid funny stuff on the internet because laughing hurts, so I’ve had ample time to practice and read and play the uke and do some Sudoku. A four-week recovery is a bitter pill to swallow for someone who likes to move, but if the body commands rest, I can’t argue too much. Off for another nap!

(Title reference here)

